Monday, December 31, 2007


African-American holiday celebrated each year from December 26 to
January 1. Each of the seven days of Kwanzaa is dedicated to one of
seven principles (Nguzo Saba): umoja "unity" kujichagulia
"self-determination," ujima "collective responsibility," ujamaa
"cooperative economics," nia "purpose," kuumba "creativity," and imani
"faith." Each evening family members gather to light one of the candles
in the kinara, a seven-branched candelabra, and discuss the principle
for that day; often gifts are exchanged. A community feast, the karamu,
is held on December 31.

No comments:

Adobe News